Mac MacLure Spirit of Leadership Award

The Robert W. Deutsch Foundation (RWDF) has teamed with the Central Baltimore Partnership (CBP) to launch The Mac MacLure Spirit of Leadership Award, to recognize and celebrate exemplary community leadership. This award was created in honor of Laurens “Mac” MacLure, a director and long-time senior member of the RWDF staff, as well as a highly respected and much-loved member of the Central Baltimore community. This year, the Mac MacLure Award will give one $25,000 grant to a community leader whose work in Central Baltimore represents the values and spirit Mr. MacLure exemplified in his community engagement and leadership on behalf of the Foundation. 

Awardees honored by this award will have served their community in ways that are innovative and inclusive, and they will have made a long-lasting contribution toward creating a more equitable, thriving community. 

Awardees will have demonstrated the traits and skills that characterize Mr. MacLure, including:

  • Quiet, effective, collaborative leadership;
  • Integrity and generosity of spirit;
  • Empathetic advocacy for individuals, the community, and the city, especially for those who are often marginalized;
  • A thoughtful, knowledgeable, and thorough commitment to excellence;
  • Fair-minded problem solving when facing urgent challenges

“The Deutsch Foundation is thrilled to announce this leadership award in honor of Mac, a beloved colleague, thoughtful leader and cherished friend,” said Jane Brown, President of the Robert W. Deutsch Foundation. “Like many, we have benefitted from Mac’s generosity of spirit and community stewardship. The foundation is grateful to be able to honor Mac’s many contributions to Baltimore through this award which, embodies his spirit of giving, by uplifting and recognizing other committed community leaders in our neighborhoods.” Nominations in the form of an essay/letter should be submitted to Ellen Janes, Executive Director, CBP, beginning May 1 through July 1. Honorees will be selected by a small panel assembled by CBP and RWDF. The first awardee will be announced in early 2023. 

Nominations for the Mac MacLure Spirit of Leadership Award will be accepted on an annual basis. Award funds may be used by the honoree at their discretion and could include furthering personal or professional goals; supporting an individual or organizational vision or mission; or investing in an emerging individual or organization. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *